LSU’s Eason, Loyola’s Hollowell earn top LSWA men’s basketball honors – Crescent City Sports

season rates

LAFAYETTE – One in every of faculty basketball’s finest bench gamers together with the state’s first males’s nationwide championship coach since 1961 earned high honors when LSU’s Tari Eason and Loyola’s Stacy Hollowell highlighted the 2022 All-Louisiana Males’s School Basketball Workforce , launched Wednesday by the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation (LSWA).

The 18-member group was nominated by the state’s males’s basketball sports activities data administrators and chosen by a statewide panel of SIDs and members of the media.

Eason, a sophomore from Los Angeles, California, was named LSWA Participant of the Yr and Rookie of the Yr after ending as among the best gamers within the SEC. The Cincinnati switch got here off the bench in 29 of the 33 LSU video games he performed in throughout the 2021-22 season and averaged 16.9 factors and 6.6 rebounds.

The SEC’s Sixth Man of the Yr and first-team All-SEC choice, Eason earned third-team All-America honors from Sports activities Illustrated and acquired an All-America honorable point out from the Related Press.

Eason reached double figures in scoring in 29 video games throughout the season for LSU with 11 video games of 20 or extra factors. The 6-foot-8 ahead posted seven double-doubles for the Tigers along with his 4 20-point, 10-rebound video games, essentially the most by an LSU participant in a season for the reason that 2015 season.

A Naismith Defensive Participant of the Yr semifinalist, Eason had 11 video games of three steals or extra throughout the season with two video games of 5 or extra. Eason completed sixth within the SEC in scoring, was ninth in rebounding, fourth in FG proportion, seventh in FT proportion, T4 in steals, ninth in blocking fee and ninth in offensive rebounding fee (2.27).

Hollowell, the LSWA Coach of the Yr, led a high-octane Loyola group to a program-record 37 wins throughout the season that was capped by the college’s first on-court nationwide title since 1945. Main the Pack from Lobos to the primary nationwide crown for a males’s state program since Grambling in 1961, Hollowell was NAIA Nationwide Coach of the Yr, NABC (NAIA) Coach of the Yr, SSAC Coach of the Yr, and winner of the Don Meyer Award.

Below Hollowell’s steering, Loyola entered the NAIA Match because the No. 1 general seed and produced 16 wins in opposition to groups that achieved a Prime 25 NAIA rating throughout the season.

His group led the nation in scoring, posting a program-high 3,395 factors in 38 video games, a median of 89.3 factors per sport, whereas outscoring opponents by almost 21 factors per sport. The Wolf Pack ranked first within the NAIA in steals (13.7 per sport) and was second nationally in assists (19.7) and offensive rebounds (15.6) per sport.

LSU’s Brandon Murray capped off the specialty awards when he was named the state freshman of the 12 months. The Baltimore, Md., native averaged 10.0 factors, 3.0 rebounds and 1.9 assists in serving to lead LSU to a 22-12 file and a 9-9 mark in SEC play.

The SEC freshman was one of many high gamers within the SEC in minutes performed and had 16 video games in double figures. Murray scored a season-high 21 factors in opposition to Texas A&M and added 19 and 17 factors in video games in opposition to Alabama.

Murray grabbed a season-high seven rebounds in opposition to the Liberty and posted 4 video games of 5 or extra assists, together with 9 in opposition to Missouri within the SEC Match.

Eason was joined on the primary group by Louisiana’s Jordan Brown, Louisiana Tech’s Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Nicholls’ Ty Gordon and Loyola’s Zach Wrightsil. The second group was named Kae’Ron Baker from Louisiana Christian (previously Louisiana School), Kendal Coleman from Northwestern State, Jalen Prepare dinner from Tulane, Darius Days from LSU and Troy Inexperienced from New Orleans.

Myles Burns from Loyola was named to the LSWA Third Workforce and was joined by Jaylen Forbes from Tulane, Jalyn Hinton from Southeastern, Andre Jones from ULM and Derek St. Hilaire from New Orleans. Three gamers, SLU’s Gus Okafor, Xavier’s Makye Richard and LSU Shreveport’s Leondre Washington, have been honorable point out picks.

For extra details about the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation, go to the official web site at www.lswa.information.

Chosen by the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation (LSWA)

Tari Eason, LSU – SEC Sixth Man of the Yr, SEC First Workforce, AP All-America Honorable Point out
Jordan Brown, Louisiana – Second Workforce All-SBC, First Workforce NABC All-District
Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Louisiana Tech – First Workforce All-Convention USA, First Workforce NABC All-District
Ty Gordon, Nicholls – SLC Participant of the Yr, Lou Henson All-America Workforce
Zach Wrightsil, Loyola – NAIA/NABC Nationwide Participant of the Yr, SSAC Participant of the Yr

Kae’Ron Baker, Louisiana Christian – NAIA Second Workforce All-American, RRAC Participant of the Yr
Kendal Coleman, Northwestern State – First Workforce All-SLC, SLC All-Defensive Workforce
Jalen Prepare dinner, Tulane – First Workforce All-AAC
Darius Days, LSU – Second Workforce All-SEC
Troy Inexperienced, New Orleans – First Workforce All-SLC

Myles Burns, Loyola – NAIA Nationwide Championship Match MVP, Second Workforce NAIA All-America
Jaylen Forbes, Tulane – Second Workforce All-ACC
Jalyn Hinton, Southeast – SLC Defensive Participant of the Yr, Second Workforce All-SLC
Andre Jones, UlM – Third Workforce All-SBC
Derek St. Hilaire, New Orleans – First Workforce All-SLC, NABC All-District

Gus Okafor, Southeast; Makye Richard, Xavier; Leondre Washington, LSU Shreveport

Participant of the Yr: Tari Eason, LSU
Newcomer of the Yr: Tari Eason, LSU
Freshman of the Yr – Brandon Murray, LSU
Coach of the Yr: Stacy Hollowell, Loyola

Leave a Comment