Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews collects the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

TAMPA, Fla. — The Toronto Maple Leafs’ star ahead auston matthews picked up the Hart Trophy as NHL Most Worthwhile Participant and the Ted Lindsay Award as NHLPA Most Excellent Participant on the NHL Awards on Tuesday evening.

The 24-year-old Matthews scored 60 targets, main the NHL for the second straight season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise document and the single-season document for many targets by an American-born participant. He led the NHL in uniform targets (44), targets per recreation (0.82), and pictures (348). He was tied for sixth in factors with 106, the best whole of his profession.

“I feel it is a great honor to put on the blue and white, to symbolize the town of Toronto and to put on the maple leaf each evening,” he mentioned. “Any time your identify goes down in historical past, with a corporation like that, it is one thing I do not take as a right.”

Matthews garnered 119 first-place votes for the Hart Trophy, which is voted on by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers was second within the voting, and the goalkeeper of the New York Rangers Igor Shesterkin was third.

Matthews is the primary Maple Leafs participant to win the NHLPA Most Excellent Participant Award, which is voted on by the gamers and was first offered in 1971. He’s the second American-born participant to win it, becoming a member of star of the Chicago Blackhawks. patrick kane (2015-16). Protection of McDavid and Nashville Predators josi roman they had been the runners-up to Ted Lindsay.

“I am not going to mislead you, it feels nice,” Matthews mentioned. “It is particular to have my household right here with me. There are loads of nice gamers in that room.”

The closest vote of the evening was for the Norris Trophy, awarded to the perfect defenseman within the NHL by the PHWA. Colorado Avalanche Protection Cala Makar Norris received his first with 1,631 factors within the voting, with 92 first-place votes. Josi was second (1,606) with extra first place votes than Makar (98). The purpose allocation on the poll, which ranks the highest 5 choices, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar was named on 195 ballots, whereas Josi was named on 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning Protection Victor Hedman he was third for the Norrises.

Each Hedman and Makar will play in Recreation 4 of the Stanley Cup Ultimate on Wednesday evening.

“I really feel like as soon as it is all mentioned and executed, you may get pleasure from [the award]Makar mentioned. “However for me at this level, I’ve type of forgotten about it already. Yo must go forward. Clearly, these are unusual circumstances with [the awards] being launched earlier than the season ends. As a group, we put ourselves in an awesome place proper now. We simply must capitalize on that.”

Shesterkin received the Vezina Trophy as the perfect goaltender within the league, which is voted on by NHL basic managers. The opposite finalists had been finalists. Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and juuse saros of the Predators.

“It means rather a lot to me,” mentioned Shesterkin, who accomplished his third season within the NHL. “I did not take into consideration that after I received into the NHL. However typically you assume perhaps I’ve an opportunity. Within the first preseason recreation towards the Islanders, I did not play. A bit of child [fan] He confirmed me a photograph of me and mentioned: ‘Future winner of the Vezina Trophy’. I feel, ‘Why not?’ Now we have group for that.”

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against common and a .935 save proportion in 53 video games, main the Rangers to 110 factors within the common season, the third-highest whole in franchise historical past. He was first nominated for Vezina and joined Henrik Lundqvist Y John Vanbiesbrouck corresponding to Rangers who’ve received the Vezina for the reason that present standards for the award had been established in 1981-82.

Some hoped it might be a unanimous election, however Carolina fredrick andersentampa bay Andrey Vasilyevsky and the New York Islanders Ilya Sorokin he additionally received first-place votes.

Detroit Crimson Wings defenseman Moritz Seider he received the Calder Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the 12 months, as voted by the PHWA. He performed all 82 video games for the Crimson Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per recreation, finest amongst rookies. He led all rookie defensemen in factors (50), the third-most for a first-year blueliner previously 30 years. He led all rookies in assists (43) and power-play factors (21).

Seider had giggle on the awards ceremony when he talked about that his mother and father did not attend as a result of they’d simply returned from their trip in Croatia.

“They scheduled their holidays and there simply weren’t any extra days to get away from house,” he mentioned. “They undoubtedly noticed. Very proud to convey one thing again [for them].”

Seider collected 170 first-place votes. trevor zegras, the Anaheim Geese ahead who created a number of standout targets this season, was second with 15 first-place votes. maple leaves rookie michael buntingwho stood out for being 26 years previous, was third within the vote.

Julien BriseBois of Lightning, chris drury of the Rangers and joe sakic of the Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2021-22 Jim Gregory Normal Supervisor of the 12 months Award. The winner might be introduced on the NHL draft subsequent month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards had been held at Armature Works on the time off between Video games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Ultimate.

The league beforehand introduced a number of awards through the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Management Award: anze kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Flames; Invoice Masterton Memorial Trophy: tortoiseshell worth, Montreal Canadians; Willie O’Ree Group Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore. Frank J. Selke Trophy for Finest Defensive Ahead: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Girl Byng Memorial Trophy for Most Chivalrous Participant: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for Group Service: Subban PKNew Jersey Devils.

Leave a Comment